Folk Alley Radio Show #190404

This week on Folk Alley, an exclusive in-studio session with the Wisconsin duo Dead Horses (Sarah Vos and Daniel Wolff); new music from Molly Tuttle, Steve Earle & The Dukes; and we’ll hear one from Todd Snider’s latest release, ‘Cash Cabin Sessions, Vol. 3’; also, a set for the birds with David Francey, Steve Goodman; plus favorites from Tony Rice, David Rawlings Machine, and more.

In hour two, a set in honor of Pete Seeger’s upcoming 100th Birthday this year (May 3) with songs from Bruce Springsteen, Natalie Merchant, and the man himself; new music from Mile Twelve, Evie Ladin Band, Steve Poltz, Anna Tivel, Molsky’s Mountain Drifters, and The Cactus Blossoms; a 2’fer from Luther Dickinson and Sisters of the Strawberry Moon’s new album, ‘Solstice’; plus favorites from The Honeycutters, The Devil Makes Three, and more.

{{Audio for the episode is no longer available.}}


Hour One:

David Francey – Red-Winged Blackbird – Torn Screen Door – Laker Musi

Steve Goodman – Red Red Robin – Artistic Hair – Red Pajama Records

Molly Tuttle – Take the Journey – When You’re Ready – Compass Records

Tony Rice – Port Tobacco – The Bluegrass Guitar Collection – Rounder

Dave Rawlings Machine – Sweet Tooth – A Friend of a Friend – Acony (2009)

Dead Horses – Swinger In the Trees – Folk Alley Sessions – Folk Alley in-studio Exclusive

Dead Horses – Family Tapes – Folk Alley Sessions – Folk Alley in-studio Exclusive

Dead Horses – Mighty Storm – Folk Alley Sessions – Folk Alley in-studio Exclusive

Steve Earle & The Dukes – The Randall Knife – Guy – New West

Shawn Camp – Soldiers Joy 1864 – Live at the Station Inn – OhBoy

Patty Griffin (compilation) – The Cape – This One’s For Him: A Tribute To Guy Clark – Icehouse Music

Todd Snider – Talking Reality Television Blues – Cash Cabin Sessions, Vol.3 – Aimless Records/Thirty

Cicada Rhythm – America’s Open Road – Everywhere I Go – New West Records

Hour Two:

Pete Seeger – Where Have All the Flowers Gone – The Essential Pete Seeger – Vanguard

Bruce Springsteen – Erie Canal – We Shall Overcome – Columbia

Natalie Merchant – Which Side Are You On? – SEEDS: Songs of Pete Seeger Vol.3 – Appleseed

Mile Twelve – Barefoot In Jail – City On A Hill – Delores the Taurus

Hot Rize – Burn It Down (live) – 40th Anniversary Bash – Ten In Hand Records

Luther Dickinson and Sisters of the Strawberry Moon – Superlover (feat. Birds of Chicago) – Solstice – New West Records

Luther Dickinson and Sisters of the Strawberry Moon – Fly With Me (feat. Sharde Thomas) – Solstice – New West Records

Molsky’s Mountain Drifters – Fortune – Closing the Gap – Tree Fog Music

The Honeycutters – Let’s Get Drunk – On the Ropes – Organic Records

The Devil Makes Three – Drunken Hearted Man – Redemption & Ruin – New West Records

Evie Ladin Band – Glory – Caught On A Wire – Evil Diane Music

Obo & Sol Luna – La Mamba – Cariba – SSS

Steve Poltz – Shine On – Shine On – Red House Records

Anna Tivel – Worthless – The Question – Fluff & Gravy Records

The Cactus Blossoms – I Am the Road – Easy Way – Walkie Talkie Records

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By