Folk Alley Radio Show #190228

This week on Folk Alley, new music by Danny Schmidt, Yola, and Steve Poltz; an exclusive Folk Alley Session from the 2019 30A Songwriters Festival featuring “Southern Gothic songster” Amythyst Kiah; we’ll hear the latest from Della Mae’s new EP, ‘The Butcher Shoppe’; plus favorites from Courtney Hartman, Molly Tuttle, Eliza Gilkyson and more.

In hour two of Folk Alley, more new music from the Nell & Jim Band, Patty Griffin, and Joy Williams; a set of folk classics with Dave Van Ronk and Koerner, Ray & Glover; we’ll hear one from Over the Rhine’s latest work, ‘Love & Revelation’; also a new track from Todd Snider featuring Jason Isbell; plus favorites from Usher’s Island, The Holmes Brothers, Rodrigo y Gabriela, and more.

{{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}}


Hour One:

Della Mae – Bluebird Blackbird – The Butcher Shoppe (EP) – Rounder Records

Courtney Hartman – Cumberland Gap – Nothing We Say – Courtney Hartman

Molly Tuttle – Save This Heart – Rise (EP) – Molly Tuttle Music

Danny Schmidt – Just Wait Til They See You – Standard Deviation – Live Once Records

Eliza Gilkyson – In the Name of the Lord – SECULARIA – Red House Records

Amythyst Kiah – Darling Corey – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival (2019) – Folk Alley Exclusive

Amythyst Kiah – Polly Ann’s Hammer – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival (2019) – Folk Alley Exclusive

Amythyst Kiah – 100 Miles – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival (2019) – Folk Alley Exclusive

Steve Poltz – Pharmacist – Shine On – Red House Records

Eilen Jewell – Worried Mind – Sundown Over Ghost Town – Signature Sounds

Yola – Walk Through Fire – Walk Through Fire – Easy Eye Sounds

Keller & The Keels – Bath of Fire – thief – SCI Fidelity

Hour Two:

Nell & Jim Band – Shady Grove/Matty Groves – Steel – Whippoorwill Arts

Usher’s Island – Five Drunken Landladies – Usher’s Island – Compass Records

Altan – Uncle Rat – The Blue Idol – Narada

Dave Van Ronk – Stacklee – Down In Washington Square: The Smithsonian Collection – Smithsonian Folkways

Koerner, Ray, and Glover – Hangman – Blues, Rags, and Hollers – Red House Records

Todd Snider (feat. Jason Isbell) – Like a Force of Nature – Cash Cabin Sessions, Vol. 3 – Aimless Records/Thirty

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – Chaos and Clothes – The Nashville Sound – Southeastern Records

Joy Williams – Front Porch – Front Porch

The Milk Carton Kids – One Goodbye – Prologue

The Holmes Brothers – Shine – Simple Truths – Alligator

Rodrigo y Gabriela – Misty Moses – 9 Dead Alive – ATO

Patty Griffin – Hourglass – PGM/Thirty Tigers

Over The Rhine – Leavin’ Days – Love & Revelation – Great Speckled Dog

Hot Club of Cowtown – If You Leave Me – Wishful Thinking – Proper Records

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By