Folk Alley Radio Show #190221

This week on Folk Alley, we celebrate awards season with 2019 Grammy-winners: Brandi Carlile, Kacey Musgraves, The Travelin’ McCourys, and the Punch Brothers; we showcase the 2019 Folk Alliance International Award-winners including Zoe Mulford (via Joan Baez,) Mary Gauthier, I’m With Her, Joni Mitchell, and Buffy Sainte-Marie; new music from J.S. Ondara and Lula Wiles; plus favorites from Jorma Kaukonen, Amos Lee, and more.

In hour two, we’ll spotlight many of the acts featured at this year’s Folk Alliance International conference in Montréal with De Temps Antan, Le Vent du Nord, and Musique A Bouches; we revisit our exclusive in-studio Session with the Small Glories (Cara Luft & JD Edwards) from 2016; plus favorites from Doolin’, Vishten, Frazey Ford, The East Pointers, Trad.Attack! and more.

{{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}}


Hour One:

Brandi Carlile – Every Time I Hear That Song – By the Way, I Forgive You – Elektra

Brandi Carlile – The Joke – By the Way, I Forgive You – Elektra

Punch Brothers – It’s All Part of the Plan – All Ashore – Nonesuch Records

The Travelin’ McCourys – Crowhop – The Travelin’ McCourys – McCoury Music

Kacey Musgraves – Space Cowboy – Golden Hour – MCA Nashville

I’m With Her (Sara Watkins, Sarah Jarosz and Aoife O’Donovan) – See You Around – See You Around – I’m With Her/Rounder

Mary Gauthier – Brothers – Rifles & Rosary Beads – In the Black Records/Thirty

Joan Baez – The President Sang Amazing Grace – Whistle Down the Wind – Concord Records

Buffy Sainte- Marie – We Are Circling – Power In the Blood – Gypsy Boy Music/True

Joni Mitchell – Chelsea Morning – Clouds – Reprise

J.S. Ondara – American Dream – Tales of America – Verve Forecast

Hawktail – Abbzug – Unless – Padiddle Records

Amos Lee – Crooked – My New Moon – Dualtone

Lula Wiles – Nashville, Man – What Will We Do – Smithsonian Folkways

Jorma Kaukonen – Nashville Blues – River of Time – Red House

Hour Two:

De Temps Antan – L’America – Ce Monde Ici-Bas – L-Abe

Le Vent du Nord – D’ouest en est – Tetu – Borealis Records

Musique À Bouches – Pour Boire Il Faut Vendre – Jusqu’aux oreilles – Musique a Bouches

Vishten – Tobie Lapierre – Mosaik – Plages Distribution

Doolin’ – Famine – Doolin’ – Compass Records

The Small Glories – Wondrous Traveler (in-studio) – Folk Alley Sessions Exclusive – Folk Alley Exclusive

The Small Glories – Time Wanders On (in-studio) – Folk Alley Sessions Exclusive – Folk Alley Exclusive

The Small Glories – Something To Hold Onto (in-studio) – Folk Alley Sessions Exclusive – Folk Alley Exclusive

Trad.Attack! – Rain (Vihmakene) – Trad.Attack (EP) – Trad.Attack

The Jellyman’s Daughter – Giving Up – Dead Reckoning – Boat Duck Records

Frazey Ford – Firecracker – Obadiah – Nettwerk

The East Pointers – Party Wave – What We Leave Behind – The East Pointers

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By