Folk Alley Radio Show #190110

This week on Folk Alley, we gear up for the coming “super blood wolf moon” eclipse with songs from Neko Case, kd lang and Laura Veirs, Chris Kasper, and Neil Young; we’ll hear new music from Balsam Range, Karan Casey, Bruce Springsteen, and a set from Irish-American folksinger, Danny Burns.

In hour two, new music from Rachel Sumner, The Mammals, Evie Ladin, and The Lonely Heartstring Band; we’ll hear the latest from Leyla McCalla’s new work, ‘The Capitalist Blues’; plus favorites from Jimmy LaFave, The War and Treaty, Langhorne Slim & The Law, and more.

{{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Neko Case, kd lang and Laura Veirs – Supermoon – case/lang/veirs – Anti/Epitaph

Chris Kasper (feat. Kiley Ryan) – Blood Moon – O, The Fool – Chris Kasper

Neil Young – Wolf Moon – The Monsanto Years – Reprise Records

Balsam Range – Get Me Gone – Aeonic – Mountain Home Music

Greg Brown – Here in the Going Going Gone – The Poet Game – Red House

Danny Burns (feat. Tim O’Brien) – Great Big Sea – North Country – Bonfire Recording

Danny Burns (feat. Tift Merritt) – Human Heart – North Country – Bonfire Recording

Karan Casey – Hollis Brown – Hieroglyphs That Tell the Tale – Vertical Records

Solas – Michael Conway – Shamrock City – THL Records

Bruce Springsteen – The Promised Land (live) – Springsteen On Broadway – Columbia

Mike Marshall & Chris Thile – Hey Ho! – Into The Cauldron – Sugar Hill

Iron & Wine – Talking to Fog – Weed Garden (EP) – Sub Pop Records

Birds of Chicago – Roll Away – Love In Wartime – Signature Sounds

Mavis Staples (feat. Valerie June) – High Note – Livin’ On A High Note – Anti

Hour Two:

Rachel Sumner – Shake and Shiver – Anything Worth Doing (EP)

Evie Ladin (feat. Aaron Jonah Lewis) – Magnolia One Step – Riding the Rooster – Evil Diane Records

The Lonely Heartstring Band – The Way It All Began – Smoke & Ashes – Rounder Records

Leyla McCalla – Lavi Vye Neg – The Capitalist Blues – Pias America

Carolina Chocolate Drops – Hit ‘Em Up Style – Genuine Negro Jig – Nonesuch

Jimmy LaFave – Peace Town – Peace Town – Music Road Records

The War and Treaty – Here Is Where the Loving Is At – Healing Tide – Strong World

The Mammals – Poison – [single] – Humble Abode Music

Amos Lee – Little Light – My New Moon – Dualtone

Pierce Pettis – The Adventures of Me (and This Old Guitar) – Father’s Son – Compass

John Jorgenson – Snowflake Waltz – Franco-American Swing – FGM

Susan Werner – Snowmobiles (The Worries of Patrick Lundquist) – Hayseed – Sleeve Dog Records

Ana Egge – You Among the Flowers – White Tiger – StorySound Records

Langhorne Slim & the Law – Meet Again – The Spirit Moves – Dualtone Music Group

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By