Folk Alley Radio Show #181206

This week on Folk Alley, new music from Donna the Buffalo, Greensky Bluegrass, Hot Rize, and one from Seth Lakeman’s latest work, ‘The Well Worn Path’. We’ll revisit one of our favorite Folk Alley Sessions of the year featuring Anna & Elizabeth, performing songs from their 2018 release, ‘The Invisible Comes To Us’; and we’ll celebrate the first snow of winter with songs from Childsplay, Ry Cooder, Josh Ritter. All this, plus favorites from The Heartbeats, Doc Watson, Dave Alvin & Jimmie Dale Gilmore, and more.

In hour two, some exclusive recordings from our friends at Beehive Productions featuring The Wild Goats, Jefferson Hamer, and The Crimson Ragdolls recorded in the Spaceworks studios in NYC; we’ll celebrate some of the winners of the 2018 Canadian Folk Music Awards with music from Pharis & Jason Romero, The Fretless, and Rob Lutes. New music from Boston trio, Lula Wiles; plus favorites from Tom Waits, The Deep Dark Woods, Darlingside, and more.

{{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}}

Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Ry Cooder – Footprints in the Snow – My Name is Buddy – Nonesuch

Childsplay – Lara’s Jig / The Burning Snowball / Farewell To London – The Bloom of Youth – Childsplay

Josh Ritter – Wintertime (The Snow is Coming Down) – Acoustic Christmas (compilation) – Amazon Music

Donna the Buffalo – Top Shelf – Dance In the Street – Donna the Buffalo

The Heartbeats – Living in Babylon – Spinning World – GreenLinne

Anna & Elizabeth – Mother In the Graveyard – Folk Alley Sessions – Folk Alley Exclusive

Anna & Elizabeth – Black Eyed Susan – Folk Alley Sessions – Folk Alley Exclusive

Greensky Bluegrass – Do It Alone – All for Money – Big Blue Zoo (Thirty Tigers)

Doc Watson – Doc’s Guitar – Foundation – Sugar Hill

Hot Rize – Western Skies (live) – 40th Anniversary Bash – Ten In Hand Records

Seth Lakeman – Divided We Will Fall – The Well Worn Path – Cooking Vinyl

Dave Alvin & Jimmie Dale Gilmore – Get Together – Downey to Lubbock – Yep Roc Records

Hour Two:

Rob Lutes – Walk in the Dark – Walk in the Dark – Lucky Bear Records

The Fretless – Bixie’s (live) Live from the Art Farm – The Fretless

Pharis & Jason Romero – Come On Love – Sweet Old Religion – Lula Records

The Deep Dark Woods – Up On the Mountaintop – Yarrow – Six Shooter Records

Amelia Curran – Song On the Radio – They Promised You Mercy – Six Shooter Records

Tom Waits – Step Right Up – Small Change – Asylum

The Devil Makes Three – Come On Up To the House – Redemption & Ruin – New West Records

The Wild Goats – Jenny Hang the Kettle On – Beehive Field Recordings (exclusive recording)

Jefferson Hamer – Vagabond – Beehive Field Recordings (exclusive recording)

The Crimson Ragdolls – Why – Beehive Field Recordings (exclusive recording)

Lula Wiles – Good Old American Values – What Will We Do – Smithsonian Folkways

Hawktail – Abbzug – Unless – Padiddle Records

Darlingside – Futures – Extralife – More Doug Records/Thirty Tigers

Good Lovelies – Hurry Home – Under the Mistletoe – self

Kris Delmhorst – Tracks In The Snow – The Wild – Blueblade Records

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By