Folk Alley Radio Show #181018

This week on Folk Alley, in hour one, some spooky tunes to kick off the Halloween season with music by The Dave Rawlings Machine, Asylum Street Spankers, and Langhorne Slim; new music from Gregory Alan Isakov, Lucy Kaplansky, and Willie Nelson; a 2’fer from Missy Raines’ new work, ‘Royal Traveller’; and a powerful and poignant song addressing gun violence written by Mark Erelli featuring Rosanne Cash, Lori McKenna, Anais Mitchell, etc. All this, plus favorites from Case/lang/Veirs, Martin Sexton, Mavis Staples, and more.

In hour two, new music from J.P. Harris, Courtney Hartman & Taylor Ashton, Childsplay, Kathy Mattea, and Amy Ray’s ‘Holler’; also a set from some of our favorite brothers including, the Barr Brothers, Avett Brothers, and Brother Brothers; all this plus favorites from Della Mae, Solas, Jeffrey Foucault, and more.

{{The audio for this episode is no longer available.}}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Dave Rawlings Machine – Bodysnatchers – Nashville Obsolete – Acony Records

Asylum Street Spankers – The Minor Waltz – My Favorite Record – Bloodshot

Langhorne Slim – Zombie – Lost at Last Vol.1 – Dualtone Music Group

Gregory Alan Isakov – Chemicals – Evening Machines – Dualtone Music Group

Neko Case, k.d. lang and Laura Veirs – Behind the Armory – case/lang/veirs – Anti/Epitaph

Rosanne Cash, Sheryl Crow, Lori McKenna, Anais Mitchell, Josh Ritter, and Mark Erelli – By Degrees – (single) – Signature Sounds

Mark Erelli – Look Up – For A Song – Hillbilly Pilgrim Music

Missy Raines – Fearless Love – Royal Traveller – Compass Records

Missy Raines – Swept Away – Royal Traveller – Compass Records

Martin Sexton – Glory Bound – Black Sheep – Eastern Front

Sean Watkins – Neo’s Song – Let It Fall – Sugar Hill

Lucy Kaplansky – Keeping Time – Everyday Street – Lucy Kaplansky

Mavis Staples – Action – Livin’ On A High Note – Anti

Willie Nelson – Vote ‘Em Out – (single) – Sony

Hour Two:

J.P. Harris – Sometimes Dogs Bark At Nothing – Sometimes Dogs Bark At Nothing – Free Dirt Records

Elmøe and Hoffmann – Den Betænksomme – Vandkanten – GO’ Danish Folk Music

Mile Twelve – The Margaret Keene – Onwards – Delores the Taurus

Courtney Hartman & Taylor Ashton – Been On Your Side – Been On Your Side – Free Dirt Records

Della Mae – Hounds – This World Oft Can Be – Rounder

Childsplay – Cuckanandy / Chris Childs (feat. Karan Casey) – The Bloom of Youth – Childsplay

Solas – The Newry Highwayman – Solas – Shanachie

The Brother Brothers – Colorado – Some People I Know – Compass Records

The Barr Brothers – Even The Darkness Has Arms – Sleeping Operator – Secret City Records

The Avett Brothers – Murder In The City – The Second Gleam – Ramseur Records

Amy Ray – Oh City Man – Holler – Daemon Records/Compass

John Hartford – Rose of Gilroy – Cadillac Rag – Small Dog

Jeffrey Foucault – Cheap Suit – Blood Brothers – Blueblade Records

Robin & Linda Williams – October Light – Deeper Waters – Red House

Kathy Mattea – October Song – Pretty Bird – Captain Potato

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By