Folk Alley Radio Show #181004

This week on Folk Alley, in hour one, a set to celebrate Jackson Browne’s 70th birthday; new music from Amy Helm, Lucy Kaplansky, The Black Lillies, Eric Bibb (feat. Habib Koite), Amos Lee, and Gregory Alan Isakov; a live track from The Earls of Leicester’s new recording from the CMA Theater; and one by Lucy Wainwright Roche (feat. Matthew Perryman Jones), from her new album, ‘Little Beast’. All this, plus favorites from Hiss Golden Messenger, Boubacar Traoré, and more.

In hour two, it’s more new music featuring J.P. Harris, Childsplay, Chastity Brown, Amy Ray, Ashleigh Flynn & The Riveters, Rosanne Cash, and Hazel Dickens & Alice Gerrard; we’ll hear from the debut album by duo Hush Kids; also a set from Ruston Kelly including his new work, ‘Dying Star’; plus favorites from the Jon Stickley Trio, Tweedy, and more.

{{The audio for this episode is no longer available.}}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Jackson Browne (live) – Lives In The Balance(live) – Solo Acoustic Vol. 1 – Inside

Jackson Browne – Which Side? – Standing In the Breach – Inside Recordings

Amy Helm – This Too Shall Light – This Too Shall Light – Yep Roc

Hiss Golden Message – Biloxi – HEART LIKE A LEVEE – Merge Records

Lucy Kaplansky – Old Friends (w/Shawn Colvin) – Everyday Street – Lucy Kaplansky

Shawn Colvin – Diamond In the Rough – Steady On – CBS/Sony

The Earls of Leicester – Long Journey Home (live) – Live at the CMA Theater in the Country Music Hall of Fame – Rounder

Uncle Earl – Sugar Babe – She Waits For Night – Rounder

The Black Lillies – Earthquake – Stranger To Me

Eric Bibb (feat.Habib Koite) – We Don’t Care – Global Griot – Stony Plain Records

Amos Lee – Crooked – My New Moon – Dualtone

Lucy Wainwright Roche (feat. Matthew Perryman Jones) – Quit With Me – Little Beast – Lucy Wainwright

Boubacar Traoré – Mousso – Dounia Tabolo – Lusafrica

Gregory Alan Isakov – Dark, Dark, Dark – Evening Machines – Dualtone Music Group

Hour Two:

The Travelin’ McCourys – Southbound – The Travelin’ McCourys – McCoury Music

Jon Stickley Trio – Plain Sight – Triangular (EP) – Jon Stickley Trio

Chastity Brown – Mad Love – (single) – Red House Records

Rosanne Cash – Everyone But Me – She Remembers Everything – Blue Note Records

Tweedy – Flowering – Sukierae – dBpm Records

Hush Kids – Goodbye Rain – Hush Kids – Hush Kids/Tone Tree Music

Ashleigh Flynn & The Riveters – Fly Away – Ashleigh Flynn & The Riveters – Home Perm Music

Parker Millsap – When I Leave – Parker Millsap – Okrahoma Records/Thirty Tigers

Ruston Kelly – Jericho – Dying Star – Rounder Records

Ruston Kelly & Kacey Musgraves (compilation) – To June This Morning – Johnny Cash: Forever Words – Legacy Recordings/Sony

Amy Ray – Sparrow’s Boogie – Holler – Daemon Records/Compass

Childsplay – Maids Of Galway / Jenny Picking Cockles / Epic Reel – The Bloom of Youth – Childsplay

J.P. Harris – Runaway – Sometimes Dog Bark at Nothing – Free Dirt Records

Hazel Dickens & Alice Gerrard – Cannonball Blues – Sing Me Back Home – The DC Tapes, 1965-1969 – Free Dirt Records

Kathy Mattea – Pretty Bird – Pretty Bird – Captain Potato

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By