Folk Alley Radio Show #180920

This week on Folk Alley, we revisit our exclusive in-studio Session from 2015 with Montreal-born Grenadian-Canadian artist, Kaia Kater; new music by twin brothers Adam & David Moss aka The Brother Brothers, Amos Lee, and the new EP by Iron & Wine, ‘Weed Garden’; also a set from father and daughter, Levon & Amy Helm; and more

In hour two, new music from Tobias the Owl, Courtney Hartman & Taylor Ashton, River Whyless, and 10 String Symphony; also a set from The Stray Birds, from their final release as a band, ‘Let It Pass’; we’ll hear an instrumental from the Danish folk group, Elmøe and Hoffmann; plus favorites from Darligside, Nick Drake, Peter Case, and more.

{{The audio for this episode is no longer available.}}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Bruce Springsteen – Erie Canal – We Shall Overcome – Columbia

Steve Dawson – Lonesome Ace – Lucky Hand – Black Hen Music

Iron & Wine – What Hurts Worse – Weed Garden (EP) – Sub Pop Records

The Brother Brothers – Red and Gold – Some People I Know – Compass Records

I’m With Her (Sara Watkins, Sarah Jarosz and Aoife O’Donovan) – I-89 – See You Around – I’m With Her/Rounder

Kaia Kater – Southern Girl (in-studio) – Folk Alley in-studio Session – Folk Alley Exclusive

Kaia Kater – When Sorrows Encompass Me Round (in-studio) – Folk Alley in-studio Session – Folk Alley Exclusive

Kaia Kater – Sun To Sun (in-studio) – Folk Alley in-studio Session – Folk Alley Exclusive

Kaia Kater – Waiting for Nancy/Valley Forge (in-studio) – Folk Alley in-studio Session – Folk Alley Exclusive

Amos Lee – No More Darkness, No More Light – My New Moon – Dualtone

Anais Mitchell – 1984 – Hymns For The Exiled – Waterbug

The Dead Tongues – Like A Dream – Unsung Passage – Psychic Hotline

Amy Helm – The Stones I Throw – This Too Shall Light – Yep Roc

Levon Helm – I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be free – Electris Dirt – Vanguard

Darlingside – Singularity – Extralife – More Doug Records/Thirty

Elmøe and Hoffmann – Kris Med Saksen – Vandkanten – GO’ Danish Folk Music

Seth Lakeman (feat. Wildwood Kin) – Fading Sound – Ballads of the Broken Few – Cooking Vinyl

Courtney Hartman & Taylor Ashton – Which Will – Been On Your Side – Free Dirt Records

Nick Drake – Time of No Reply – Made to Love Magic – Island

The Stray Birds – In My Time – Let It Pass – Yep Roc Records

The Stray Birds – Sleep With My Window Open – Let It Pass – Yep Roc Records

10 String Symphony – Anxious Annie – Generation Frustration – Tasty Note Records

Peter Case (in-studio) – Ain’t Gonna Worry No More – Folk Alley Exclusive-in-studio Session

River Whyless – Born in the Right Country – Kindness, A Rebel – Roll Call Records

David Grisman – Richochet – The David Grisman Quintet – Kaleidosco

Erin Rae – Bad Mind – Putting On Airs – Single Lock Records

Tobias the Owl – One Lonesome Star – A Safe Harbor for Wayward Echoes – Megaforce Records

The Milk Carton Kids – Secrets of the Stars – Monterey – ANTI

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By