Folk Alley Radio Show #180913

In hour one of Folk Alley, new music from Richard Thompson, John Hiatt, Courtney Hartman & Taylor Ashton, and The War and Treaty; we take a trip to Denmark with a set of songs featuring Hudna and Vingefang; also a set from Courtney Hartman & Taylor Ashton’s debut album as a duo, ‘Been On Your Side’; plus favorites Kris Drever, Bonnie Raitt, Lord Huron, and more.

In hour two, more new music from Mountain Heart, Punch Brothers, David Olney, Rodney Crowell, and The Tannahill Weavers; we’ll also hear a set from Brooklyn-based The Brother Brothers’ new debut release; plus favorites from Richie & Rosie, Kieran Kane & Kevin Welch, Emmylou Harris, Peter Rowan, Jimmy LaFave and more.

{{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Corb Lund – September – Cabin Fever – New West Records

Dom Flemons – Georgia Drumbeat – Prospect Hill – Music Maker Relief

The War and Treaty – Love Like There’s No Tomorrow – Healing Tide – Strong World

10 String Symphony – Running Around – Generation Frustration – Tasty Note Records

Kris Drever – If Wishes Were Horses – If Wishes Were Horses – Reveal Recors

Richard Thompson – My Rock, My Hope – 13 Rivers – New West Records

Bonnie Raitt – Take My Love With You – Slipstream – Redwing Records

John Hiatt – Cry To Me – The Eclipse Sessions – New West Records

Courtney Hartman & Taylor Ashton – Meadowlark– Been On Your Side – Free Dirt Records

Courtney Hartman & Taylor Ashton – Dead To Me – Been On Your Side – Free Dirt Records

Hudna – Menevşe Koymuşlar – Kaynasma – Gateway Music

Vingefang – Njia Yangu/Njia Jig – Tidens Ekko – GO’ Danish Folk Music

Lord Huron – Fool For Love – Strange Tails – Iamsound

Birds of Chicago – Lodestar – Love In Wartime – Signature Sounds

Hour Two:

Mountain Heart – No Complaints – Soul Searching – Compass Records

Punch Brothers – Three Dots and a Dash – All Ashore – Nonesuch Records

Richie & Rosie – Cold Mountain – Nowhere In Time – Richie & Rosie

The Brother Brothers – Mary Ann – Some People I Know – Compass Records

The Brother Brothers – Frankie – Some People I Know – Compass Records

The Tannahill Weavers – Jenny A’ Things – Òrach (The Golden Anniversary Album) – Compass Records

The Honey Dewdrops – Fly Away Free – If the Sun Will Shine – self

Kieran Kane & Kevin Welch – Mr. Bones – Lost John Dean – Compass

Emmylou Harris – Deeper Well – Wrecking Ball – Elektra

David Olney – Always the Stranger – This Side or the Other – Black Hen Music

Peter Rowan – Dust Bowl Children – Dust Bowl Children – Sugar Hill

Jimmy LaFave – My Oklahoma Home (It Blowed Away) – Peace Town – Music Road Records

Rodney Crowell – Lovin’ All Night – Acoustic Classics – RC1 Records

Leo Kottke – The Driving of the Year Nail – 6 and 12 String Guitar – Takoma

Lori McKenna – You Won’t Even Know I’m Gone – The Tree – CN Records/Thirty Tigers

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By