Folk Alley Radio Show #180308

Folk Alley Logo - tan matte 240.jpg

This week on Folk Alley, we’ll celebrate to coming of St. Patrick’s Day with music by The Chieftains featuring Bonnie Raitt, We Banjo 3, and Doolin’; new music from John Prine, Chris Smither, Parsonsfield, Darlingside, Brandi Carlile, Kieran Kane & Rayna Gellert, Ry Cooder, Kacey Musgraves, The Wood Brothers, and Adriel Denae; more favorites from The Suitcase Junket, The Secret Sisters, Heidi Talbot, Mavis Staples; plus we’ll celebrate Norman Blake’s 80th birthday with a set of music from his 1972 debut release, ‘Back Home in Sulphur Springs.’

{{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

The Chieftains (Bonnie Raitt) – A Stor Mo Chroi – Tears of Stone – RCA

We Banjo 3 – Shove The Pig’s Foot A Little Further In The Fire-Fine Times At Our House – Gather the Good – We Banjo 3

Doolin’ – Galway Girl – Doolin’ – Compass Records

Chris Smither – Maybellene – Call Me Lucky – Signature Sounds

The Suitcase Junket – Beta Star – Pile Driver -Signature Sounds

Brandi Carlile – Harder to Forgive – By the Way, I Forgive You – Elektra

The Secret Sisters – King Cotton – You Don’t Own Me Anymore – New West Records

John Prine – Knockin’ On Your Screen Door – The Tree of Forgiveness – Oh Boy/Thirty Tigers

Nanci Griffith – Speed of the Sound of Loneliness – Winter Marquee – Rounder

Steve Goodman (John Prine) – Souvenirs – Affordable Art – Red PJ

Parsonsfield – Kick Out the Windows – WE – Signature Sounds

The East Pointers – No Bridge Too Far – What We Leave Behind – The East Pointers

Chris Castle – Bird – Crazy Wind -Dirtsandwh

Darlingside – Singularity – Extralife – More Doug Records/Thirty

Heidi Talbot – Everything – In Love + Light – Compass

Hour Two:

Norman Blake – Little Joe – Back Home in Sulfer Springs – Rounder

Norman Blake – Ginseng Sullivan – Back Home in Sulfer Springs – Rounder

Kieran Kane & Rayna Gellert – Wouldn’t Be the First Time – The Ledges – Dead Reckoning Records

Mike Barnett (feat. David Grisman) – Bow Wow – Portraits in Fiddles – Compass Records

Tim O’Brien – Go Down To the Water – Pompadour – Howdy Skies Records

Ry Cooder – Shrinking Man – The Prodigal Son – Fantasy Records/Concord

Mavis Staples – Down In Mississippi – We’ll Never Turn Back – ANTI

Kacey Musgraves – Butterflies – Golden Hour – MCA Nashville

Willie Nelson (feat, Alison Krauss) – No Mas Amor – To All the Girls… – Sony Legacy

The Wood Brothers – Strange As It Seems – One Drop of Truth – Honey Jar Records

Elephant Revival – Lexington – Break In the Clouds – Ruff Shod

Parker Millsap – Jealous Sun – The Very Last Day – Okrahoma Records

Iron & Wine – Bitter Truth – Beast Epic – Sub Pop Records

Adriel Denae – Build A World – Build A World – Refuge Foundation for the Arts

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By